Home » About Us

About Us

Photo of Board Members

T where can i buy clomid in stores he mission of the Community Foundation of East Alabama is to build and administer endowment funds for philanthropic purposes focusing on identified community needs and strengthening nonprofit organizations

What We Do

Community Foundations are public endowments that administer a number of endowed funds contributed by a variety of donors primarily for local purposes, to solve community or regional problems, and improve the lives of people in a geographic area.

Community Foundations also make strategic grants to assist nonprofit organizations in handling their programs and other special needs in the community.

History of the Foundation

In 2001, the Envision Opelika Foundation, Inc. embarked on a planning and action project to improve the quality of life for the residents of their community. In addition to its many accomplishments, the Envision Opelika effort began to envision a broader strategy to improve the quality of life for the larger region of East Alabama. It became evident that with the many challenges and opportunities facing Auburn, Opelika and the east Alabama region, the best approach was to start a community foundation. The Community Foundation of East Alabama was incorporated in 2007.

Board of Directors

All community foundations are overseen by a volunteer board of citizens representative of the community and managed by professionals with expertise in financial planning and advice.

2014 Board of Directors

click Richard (Dick) Phelan, ChairWilson Investment Group
Keith Pridgen, Vice ChairWilson Investment Group
Don Chastain – Machen, McChesney & Chastain, LLP
LaFaye Dellinger – Mayor, City of Smiths Station
Gene Dulaney – Auburn Bank
Tommy Eden – Cappell and Howard
Hal Huguley – Himmelwright Huguley & Boles
Dora James  – Civic Volunteer
Nathan Kastner – Smith Kastner Wealth Management
Shirley Lazenby – Physician
Todd LethanderLeonard Peterson Company, Inc.
Jerry Mattson  – Muncie and Mattson
Rex Maynor – Publisher, Opelika/Auburn News
Rusty Melnick – J. Smith Lanier & Co.
Katherine Porter – Civic Volunteer
David Scott – Scott Land Company
Rusty Sheehan – State Farm Insurance
Eddie Smith – Auburn Bank
Joyce Thomas-Vinson – Auburn University
Tom Tippett – Educator, Civic Volunteer
Anne Whittelsey – Civic Volunteer
Tom Worden – Auburn City Council


Barbara Patton, Secretary/Treasurer
Executive Director