Through the generous donors who want to help students achieve a brighter future, scholarships continue to grow.  The first named scholarship was established in 2011, and today we have seven named scholarships.  The awards for these scholarships vary from $500 per year to 4 year scholarships at $1000 per year.

The Community Foundation is working to ensure that every child in East Alabama has an opportunity to further his/her education.  Please see below the alphabetized listing of the Foundation’s scholarship funds and the primary contact information.  For general inquires, you may contact Barbara Patton, President, at Johnny Adrian Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is a one-time annual award in the amount of $2,000 and was established in 2018, by the friends and family of Johnny Adrian for a student at Auburn High School.  Johnny passed away at age 43 after battling a brain tumor for 9 years.  Johnny Adrian was a native of Auburn, a graduate of AHS, and Auburn University.  He had a successful career in insurance, loved sports – in particular high school and recreational sports. Kelleigh McConnell Meredith Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is an annual one-time awarded scholarship established in the memory of Kelleigh Meredith, a native of Opelika and a teacher at AHS, for students in the communities of East Alabama and, in particular, for graduates from Auburn, Beauregard, Smith Station or Opelika High School.  Preference is given to a female student, but is not the controlling factor. Usually, two $500 scholarships are awarded each year but the number and number and amount is determined in January.


The National Village Ladies Club sponsors an annual award to one female Opelika high school senior in the amount of $3,000.00.  The student must demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, school and community involvement and a desire for higher learning.  The award is to be used for tuition, fees, books and any other legitimate educational expense.